Record number of participants turn up to make Ooredoo Doha Marathon grand success
January 13 2018 12:19 AM
Men’s full marathon (42km) winner Kenya’s Chebii Collins Kiptarus (centre) poses with his countrymen second-placed Henry Kipsang (left) and third-placed Dickson Terer.

A record number of over 2,400 participants turned up for the sixth edition of the Ooredoo Doha Marathon yesterday. HE Salah bin Ghanem bin Nasser al-Ali, Minister of Culture and Sports, HE Sheikh Abdulla bin Mohamed bin Saud al-Thani, the Chairman of Ooredoo, were present on the occasion.
The Ooredoo Doha Marathon, which is fast becoming an favourite international event for runners of all ages and abilities, was set along Qatar’s beautiful Corniche and Doha skyline and offered the competitors the chance to win a range of different prizes based on categories, age, and gender.
As part of the company’s vision to encourage more people to get fit and active, Ooredoo, in partnership with Qatar Tourism Authority, invited a host of renowned international athletes to take part in a special ‘Elite Category’ with a prize of $ 50,000, up for grabs.
Mo Farah did not enjoy such a successful trip, however, as the 10-time global track gold medallist withdrew before the start of the half-marathon, due to a tight Achilles. Farah warmed up for the race but had to pull out before the start. Alex Kibet of Kenya got the Half Marathon (21km) win in 1:01:53 in Farah’s absence as over 2,400 runners took part in the event from 83 different nationalities. In the women’s, Allie Kieffer of United States, the surprise fifth place finisher at the 2017 New York marathon, showed she is in great form as she got a dominant win in 1:10:40, lowering her PB from 74:13.
The Full Marathon (42km) title went to 27-year-old Chebii Collins Kiptarus from Kenya in men’s in a time of 2:16:22, while the women’s title was clinched by Nancy Joan Rotich of Kenya. The 29-year-old’s winning time was 2:24:06. Winner of the Great Scottish Run in 2017 Chris Thompson, Germany’s marathon record holder Arne Gabius, Turkey’s two-time Olympian Bekir Karayel, Michael Shelley, the 2014 Commonwealth Games marathon champion, Gemma Steel, European Cross-Country Champion also participated in the events.
Speaking about the Ooredoo Doha Marathon, Waleed al Sayed, Chief Executive Officer, Ooredoo, said, “We’re delighted with this year’s Marathon turn-out, which not just included runners, but hundreds of spectators cheering on their loved ones and our Elite Category runners. Congratulations to everyone who competed and to our all the winners.”
“This edition of the marathon is a significant one for Qatar and we hoped to create a spirit and sense of community more than ever, which is why participants ran under the slogan ‘United We Run’. I am delighted to announce that it has been a bigger and better event than ever and has truly helped cement Qatar as a first-class sporting destination,” he added.
This year’s marathon event featured courses for runners of all abilities - including a 10km and 5km run, half-marathon, full marathon, Elite Category and a special children’s 1km Fun Run.

Full Marathon (42km)
Men’s: 1. Chebii Collins Kiptarus (KEN) Time: 2:16.22 secs; 2. Henry Kipsang (KEN) 2:20:33; 3. Dickson Terer (KEN) 2:24:33; 4. Fahad al-Buenain (QAT) 2:24:55; 5. Alan Caldwell (GBR) 3:13:06
Women’s: 1. Nancy Joan Rotich (KEN) Time: 2:46:24; 2. Pia Sundstedt (FIN) 3:25:56; 3. Perrine Fages (FRA) 3:28:09; 4. Loretta Soff (GBR) 3:31:50; 5. Chloe Stevenson (RSA) 3:35:05
Half marathon (21km)
Men’s: 1. Alex Kibet (KEN) Time: 1:01:53; 2. Benard Korir (KEN) 1:02:07; 3. Chris Thompson (GBR) 1:03:03; 4. Ayad Lamdassem (ESP) 1:03:09; 5. Abdi Abirahman (USA) 1:03:18
Women’s: 1. Allie Kiefer(USA) Time: 1:10:40; 2. Gemma Steele (GBR) 1:12:37; 3. Faith Chepkoech (KEN) 1:12:44; 4. Emma Bates (USA) 1:12:52; 5. Esma Aydemir (TUR) 1:13:36

Ooredoo Doha Marathon featured courses for runners of all abilities - including a 10km and 5km run, half-marathon, full marathon and a special children’s 1km fun run.

There are no comments.

LEAVE A COMMENT Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*